Some of the world’s top ice hockey sport stars are set to descend upon Cape Town in April, when the 2015 Ice Hockey World Championships Division II Group B tournament takes place from 13-19 April at GrandWest Casino and Entertainment World.

The seven-day international tournament will see six of the world’s best teams compete for the ultimate crown on the ice rink within Group B of the global competition, in The Mother City.

Teams competing at this year’s Ice Hockey World Championships Division II Group B tournament include Israel, Mexico, New Zealand, China, Bulgaria and host country South Africa, who will all participate in a round-robin format, to determine which country comes out on top of their group. The winning team will advance to the next round of the global competition, taking place later this year around the world.

Cape Town will host this prestigious international tournament for a 3rd time in the history of the Ice Hockey World Championships, after successfully hosting it in 2013.

The event willonce againtake place at the Ice Station at GrandWest Casino and Entertainment World, which complies with IIHF standards as an Olympic Venue to host this popular and competitive sport. Here, ice hockey enthusiasts and supporters will witness some of the world’s best players squaring off against each other, to compete for international honours.

The South African Ice Hockey team, who has been a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) since February 1937, are hoping to take the top spot at this year’s event, and will aim to utilise their home ground advantage to take home the crown.

SA Ice Hockey Federation President Jerry Stevens said he is looking forward to making the World Championships “the best tournament we can offer.”

“We are excited to host all six countries again in Cape Town for yet another exciting tournament. May all the players compete with the best of their abilities with spirit, camaraderie and respect to make this a memorable contest,” he said.

Since 1994, South Africa has also been the only African based team competing in the IIHF until the Namibian national hockey inline team joined in 1998. They will also be the only African team competing in this year’s Division II B contest – a step up from their third division place they held in 2013.

Chairman of the Local Organising committee, Jason Cerff, said international events like these “bring people together and builds bridges between those playing the game”.

“May the games be played in the spirit of friendship and sportsmanship this year.”

For more info about the tournament and what to expect at this year’s event, visit http://www.iihf.com .


  • The Ice Hockey World Championships are regarded as the biggest winter sporting event across the globe.
  • Part of annual IIHF international season – which produces 800 000 spectators across the globe.
  • South Africa has participated in the Ice Hockey World Cup Championships since 1994.
  • Australia, NZ, South Africa, Argentina, Chile and Brazil are the only Southern Hemisphere teams participating in the competition globally this year.
  • The Ice Hockey World Championships is broadcast in over 100 countries with a viewership of over 50 million people each year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: