ARTSCAPE YOUTH JAZZ FESTIVAL 2017 A celebration of Young Musicians Friday 30 June at 19h30 Artscape Theatre

Artscape Youth Month this year is from 5 June to 15 July 2017. The highlight once again is the Youth Jazz Festival. It celebrates 14 soloists who successfullyauditioned to be included in the Artscape mentorship programme, which culminates with the jazz festival on Friday 30 June 2017 at 19.30 in the Artscape Theatre.

Structured to showcase young talent within the Western Cape, these young musicians have the opportunity of working with five top South African Jazz musicians in a 10-week mentorship programme. The workshops cover South African Jazz, business management for musicians, and techniques. Time is also devoted to musicians who have their own compositions.

Musical Director, Amanda Tiffin (Vocals) will lead the mentors; Camillo Lombard, (Piano), Frank Paco (Drums), Shaun Johannes (Bass) and Marc de Kock (Saxophone).

Together they form a Jazz Ensemble to accompany the musicians for an evening of superb South African Jazz.

Eleven of the musicians are currently studying at the South African College of Music at UCT. They are Damian Kamineth (19) on Drums, Brathew van Schalkwyk (20) on piano, Bradley Prince (22) Guitar, Keegan Steenkamp (23) Trumpet, Georgia Jones (21) Baritone Saxophone, Evan Froud (21) Alto Saxophone. Vocalists are Jesse Julies (20), Naledi Masilo (20), Thandeka Dladla (22), Daniel van der Walt (21) and Stephen de Souza (21) Bass Guitar. Drummer Dane Paris (18) is at Groote Schuur High School, Timothy Ehrenreich (17) Guitar is at Mondale High and at the Cape Music Institute (CMI) and Dehanré Kiewiets (19) a vocalist taking a gap year to perform and grow her passion.

Marlene le Roux, CEO of the Artscape Theatre Centre explains : ‘Since the Youth Jazz Festival was established in 2003, the focus of the programme has remained dedicated to providing skills development within the Jazz genre. This enables young Jazz musicians to take the experience forward into their careers and educate others in the process.’

‘The Artscape Youth Jazz Festival has become a stepping-stone that provides opportunities and access to significant role players. We are indeed honoured to showcase these young musicians and promise an evening of exceptional quality Jazz for all music lovers.’

Don’t delay, book your tickets now. This event is always sold out.

Tickets cost R80 and available through Artscape Dial-a-Seat 021 421 7695, Computicket, Shoprite and Checkers outlets or Computicket online


Damian Kamineth (19) Drums (UCT) – Belhar

Dane Paris (18) Drums (Groote Schuur High School) – Lansdowne

Brathew van Schalkwyk (20) Piano (UCT) – Northpine

Bradley Prince (22) Guitar (UCT) – Ruyterwacht

Timothy Ehrenreich (17) Guitar (CMI) – Grade 12 Mondale High – Mitchells Plain

Keegan Steenkamp (23) Trumpet (UCT) – Muizenberg

Georgia Jones (21) Baritone Sax (UCT) – Kalk Bay

Evan Froud (21) Alto Sax (UCT) – Rondebosch

Jesse Julies (20) Vocalist (UCT) – Clairwood

Daniel van der Walt (21) Vocalist (UCT) – Rondebosch

Dehanré Kiewiets (19) Vocalist (Gap Year) – Elsies River

Naledi Masilo (20) Vocalist (UCT) – Observatory

Thandeka Dladla (22) Vocalist (UCT) – Rondebosch

Stephen de Souza (21) Bass / double Bass (UCT) – Rondebosch


Amanda Tiffin (Vocals)

Camillo Lombard (Piano)

Marc de Kock (Saxophone)

Frank Paco (Drums)

Shaun Johannes (Bass)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: