Former Springbok Sevens and Western Province player Egon Seconds joins National Panel of Referees

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) has named the National Referee Panel for the 2016 season

The National Panel consists of 18 referees

Cwengile Jadezweni, who refereed the Absa Under-21 final between DHL Western Province and the Toyota Free State in October, is promoted to the Elite Panel for the first time in 2016. He is the only change at that level.

He joins 2015 Rugby World Cup referees Craig Joubert and Jaco Peyper, World Cup assistant referee Stuart Berry as well as Rodney Boneparte, Quinton Immelman, Pro Legoete, Rasta Rasivhenge, Marius van der Westhuizen and Jaco van Heerden in a strong panel.

On the National Panel former Springbok Sevens and Western Province player Egon Seconds joins Jason Jaftha, Absa Under-19 final referee Sindile Ngcese, Oregopotse Rametsi, Archie Sehlako, Lourens van der Merwe and Ben Crouse, among others.

The notable inclusions on the SARU Sevens panel are former Springbok Women’s player Aimee Barrett and Seconds, who joins Rasivhenge, Joubert and Van der Westhuizen.

Seconds made his debut as a referee in the Coca-Cola Academy Week in Vanderbijlpark in July and worked his way onto the National Panel in only five months. Barrett was also on the panel of referees for the Under-16 Coca-Cola Grant Khomo Week in Oudtshoorn.

pic left to right -Egon Seconds ,Chester Williams ,Martin Myers

The 2016 SARU Referee panels:

Elite Panel (all SARU contracted): Stuart Berry, Rodney Boneparte, Quinton Immelman, Cwengile Jadezweni, Craig Joubert, Pro Legoete, Jaco Peyper, Rasta Rasivhenge, Marius Van der Westhuizen, Jaco Van Heerden

National Panel: Ben Crouse (Blue Bulls), Stephan Geldenhuys (Blue Bulls), AJ Jacobs (Griffons), Jason Jaftha (SWD), Jaco Kotze (Free State), Pieter Maritz (Blue Bulls), Mpho Matsaung (Griquas), Ruhan Meiring (SWD), Paul Mente (Leopards), Vusi Msibi (KwaZulu-Natal), Sindile Ngcese (EP), Francois Pretorius (WP), Jaco Pretorius (Valke), Oregopotse Rametsi (Leopards), Egon Seconds (WP), Archie Sehlako (KwaZulu-Natal), Ricus Van der Hoven (Pumas), Lourens van der Merwe (Free State)

Sevens Panel: Aimee Barrett (WP), Ben Crouse (Blue Bulls), Craig Joubert (SARU contracted), Jaco Kotze (Free State), Rasta Rasivhenge (SARU contracted), Egon Seconds (WP), Marius Van der Westhuizen (SARU contracted)

Women’s Panel: Aimee Barrett (WP), Larentia Fred (SWD), Mariandi Janse van Vuuren (Free State), Belinda Ketse Siyanda (Free State), Maria Mabote Motshidisi (Griffons), Le-Ann MacClune (SWD), Ashleigh Murray (Golden Lions), Bulela Qwane (WP)

TMO Panel: Christie Du Preez (EP), Johan Greeff (Blue Bulls), Marius Jonker (KwaZulu-Natal), Shaun Veldsman (Boland), Willie Vos (Golden Lions), JJ Wagner (Griquas)

Selector Coaches (Elite Panel): Rassie Erasmus, Dennis Immelman, Mark Lawrence, Balie Swart, Deon van Blommestein, Banks Yantolo

Performance Reviewers (National Panel): Keith Hendricks, Jacques Hugo, Dennis Immelman, Thuso Mngqibisa, Pierre Oelofse, Willie Roos, Kim Smit, Deon van Blommestein, Banks Yantolo

Issued by SARU Corporate Affairs

tags Rugby ,Egon Seconds ,Martin Myers ,Springboks, SARU Referee’s

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: